It’s Big. It’s Scary. And it happens ever so quietly…

I haven’t been writing as regularly as I mean to, but I’ve been pretty busy. It’s time to get serious about starting a business. This decision was not easy. It’s big. It’s scary. And it happens ever so quietly with the click of a submit button on a website.

I just withdrew from my Masters of Engineering program. (like 5 minutes ago)

Doing your masters is a part of the overall engineering development program I’m part of, but I realized this week that my requirements to the program had been fulfilled. I have a few other projects and trainings to finish up before my evenings are actually my own, but grad school will no longer be taking my time. Sometimes “time management” means spending less time on facebook, but sometimes it means something much bigger.

“But they’re paying for your grad school! Why don’t you just finish!”

Imagine spending an entire semester – hours and hours every week – learning about how a ball presses into a surface. While useful to some engineering applications, this is not helping me toward my ultimate goal: Starting a successful business. I can’t put this on hold for another 2 years. It’s happening now. I’m taking back my evenings so I can make this happen. I don’t plan to quit my day job any time soon, but grad school had to go.

It’s big. It’s scary. But I know this is ultimately the right move.

 

One thought on “It’s Big. It’s Scary. And it happens ever so quietly…

Leave a Reply

