Material Testing Success

I meant to post this immediately when it happened, but it was put on the back-burner and forgotten over the holidays.  This should bring some closure to my material problems.

The Problem

In short, the prototype material was plenty strong for a massive dog that bolted after a squirrel.  However, it was prone to tearing if the dog bit and pulled.  It would rip.

Addressing the Problem

I consulted my network and came up with two friends that were experienced with sewing and fabric selection.  I asked them for a strong, eco-friendly, fabric alternative.  They were happy to provide suggestions.

I ordered some samples… and gave them the full tug-of-war test with my dog.  They passed.

Organic Cotton Canvas

Organic Cotton Canvas

…and gave them the full tug-of-war test with my dog.  They passed.

After 25 minutes of Tug-of-War

After 25 minutes of Tug-of-War

Resolution

The material will require careful seam reinforcement to ensure the material doesn’t unravel after repeated use and washing, but it is very durable.

I decided this was the right material and ordered the material for the product launch as I discussed here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

