Learning to Take Product Photos

In anticipation of the first batch of my product, I’ve started getting ready to take product photos.  I decided to go for the basic white background look that has become the standard for most product shots on the internet.  To do this, I set up a photo booth in the closet of our spare bedroom.  I had all the materials on hand from past projects.

Materials:

  • Fluorescent Lamp
  • 2 Chairs
  • 2 Copper Pipes
  • White Shower Liner
  • iPhone 5S Camera

How I set it up

I nailed the shower liner to the wall in the back of the closet about 3 feet off the ground.

Then I used the two chairs and the copper pipes to hold the lamp in front of the open closet.

 

closet photo booth

My Closet Photo Booth Setup

The giraffe is in the photo as an example.  The shower liner has some folds and wrinkles in it, but they aren’t too bad.

Here are two example photos.  One unedited, straight from my phone (plus the text).  The second photo I cleaned up a little in photoshop to correct the color and whiten the background.

no edit photo

Photo with No Edits

edited giraffe photo

Photoshopped Giraffe

It took a while of playing with it to get something decent, but I’m pretty happy with it.

Let me know if you have any tips for getting better photos!

5 thoughts on “Learning to Take Product Photos

  1. Basic but functional. :) Something to consider: overexposing a stop or two may help the background come out of the camera with a more even, brighter white. Of course, a little better camera may help with sharpness and contrast, too. In my experience, a simple compact point and shoot cameras will still produce better images than an iphone (or most other smartphones).

Leave a Reply

