Traffic Generated with a Facebook Post

I’ve noticed a pattern in the generated traffic when I post a link to facebook.  Here is my learning.

The link post generates a spike.

I’ve seen this time and time again.  Huge spike in traffic that quickly falls off.  It was the same thing when I was running my photo site.

Why?

This is not a targeted audience.  These are my family and my friends from high school, college and day job.  They might click the link because they know me and they are casually curious what I’m up to. (Isn’t that the point of facebook? Here’s a picture of my dog, here’s what I did this weekend, here’s what I work on in my free time.)

Blog Traffic Spike

Blog Traffic effects of Facebook posts

So why does this matter?  What have I actually learned?

Lessons Learned:

1)  Network.  I was surprised to find the entrepreneurial spirits that already existed in my personal network.

2)  Trust.  People on my facebook know everything I’ve been up to for years.  They don’t have to worry about whether or not my link is what I say it is.

3)  Targeting.  My facebook friends are not an audience that is specifically interested in starting businesses.  I am curious to see if there would be more lasting traffic effects or more engagement (likes/comments) with a similarly sized audience the IS interested in this content.

 

 

One thought on “Traffic Generated with a Facebook Post

Leave a Reply

