Trouble Moving Forward? 3 Mission-Clarifying Questions

Lately I’ve been struggling with getting myself to do the work I need to do during those precious moments of free time.  I’ve found that asking myself mission-clarifying questions help me get motivated to move forward.

Here are my 3 questions

1    What is the objective I want to accomplish?

2    What barriers are stopping me from accomplishing that objective?

3    How am I going to overcome those barriers?

How To Use the Questions Correctly

Be very concrete.  If you don’t have a clear goal, then there is no way to know if you achieved it or not.  Having good answers to the first two questions will help you identify the answer to the third question.  I’ll use my current struggles as an example of using the 3 Mission-Clarifying Questions.

My 3 Answers

1    I want to identify and document the real problems that businesses have by calling them and learning about their day-to-day frustrations.

2    It is difficult to connect with business owners because I work during normal business hours at a full-time, day job.

3    I will adjust my work schedule to make time for making calls at the beginning or end of the day.  Scheduling time and setting clear goals will help me move forward.

Notice that I have narrowed my objective by adding the current strategy I’m planning to pursue.  There are several ways I could identify business problems, but each strategy is going to have its own barriers.  Making the objective as specific as possible helps clarify the barrier which helps clarify the path forward.

Staying Motivated

After identifying the path forward, the hard part is ACTING.  How do I get myself to perform the necessary tasks?  This becomes extremely difficult because I’m already so comfortable with life.  My bills are getting paid.  My 401k is growing.  My wife and I get to enjoy vacations when our schedule permits.

I recently heard a quote by Khalil Gibran. (I heard this from Todd Henry on a podcast)

“Verily the lust for comfort murders the passion of the soul, and then walks grinning at the funeral.”  ~Kahlil Gibran

I won’t let my comfort sabotage my entrepreneurial passions.

I will perform the necessary work to meet my objectives.

Leave a Reply

